Brzovic For School Board

Information about Tania Brzovic's campaign for School Trustee in Nanaimo-Ladysmith, School District 68.

Leave a comment

I would like to take the opportunity to formally announce my candidacy for a second term as a school trustee in the October 20, 2018 municipal election.

During my first term, I have shown myself to be a strong advocate for public education. Over the past four years I’ve worked diligently to make decisions that put the needs of children first, whether it be opposing the closure of Rutherford Elementary school, speaking out against cuts to CUPE positions, or calling for an increase in student support teachers.

As I reflect on the past term, I take pride in the District’s work in the area of social justice. As an active member of the Safe Schools Advisory Committee, I am particularly proud of our Inclusion Policy, which actively challenges racism, homophobia, and transphobia, and is highly regarded throughout the province. I am also honoured to be part of a Board that has embraced Reconciliation as one of our key strategic goals.  We have also invested both time & financial resources into an equity scan to further our understanding of challenges facing our Aboriginal students.

I strongly believe that we must support  neighborhood schools & the community schools. Our community school coordinators are a vital link to programs which provide important resources to our children and families. I have seen this first hand as a volunteer at one of our local schools in their breakfast and lunch program. The partnership between FoodShare and the School District is only one example of the amazing work that is happening.

A strong voice will be especially important in the next four years. The new Board will face challenges. We will be entering the collective bargaining process for both our teachers and our support staff. I remain committed to growing the public’s confidence in District decisions by continuing to advocate for meaningful consultation with partners and encouraging effective, appropriate oversight of management. A review our facilities plan must be completed so that we can come up with strategies to address the growth in various parts of the District, particularly the north end. We must ensure that we have adequate resources for special needs students so that all children receive the education they deserve. Lastly we need to continue our work to create welcoming, inclusive and safe schools. With my experience as a trustee, coupled with my personal background, I believe that I can make a significant contribution to the work of the Board.

 

Leave a comment