Brzovic For School Board

Information about Tania Brzovic's campaign for School Trustee in Nanaimo-Ladysmith, School District 68.

Year End thoughts

Leave a comment

The end of the school year is often a little bittersweet to me. It’s a time of both endings and beginnings. It was a privilege to attend both the CUPE and NDTA retirement functions, as well as the District retirement event. Every year I’m awestruck by the sheer amount of talent and experience in the room as we say goodbye and good luck to these incredible professionals, as they move on to the next part of their lives.

This year, we also said goodbye to a place… an amazing school – Rutherford Elementary – which will always hold a special place in my heart. I was grateful to have the opportunity to say goodbye to it; I was a Rutherford student from grade 1 through to the end of grade 7. Tamara Cunningham, the education reporter for the Nanaimo Bulletin, did a lovely write up on the ending events at the school, which you can find here. The staff did an amazing job with the final assembly; it was one of the best I’ve been to. I was unable to say a proper thank you and goodbye to the staff until the next day, as I had to leave to get ready for the Dover graduation, which was that afternoon.

As always, I’ll share my remarks from the ceremony.

Good afternoon staff, parents, family, friends distinguished guests, most importantly, the graduating class of 2018. It is my profound honour to bring you greetings on behalf of the Board of Trustees of School District 68.  

First of all, I want to say how incredibly proud I am of each and every one of you. I consider it the greatest privilege of my role as a Trustee to be able to be here and share this day with you. Although I work hard to have a unique message every year, there are two things I have to say that I will say until someone tells me I can’t anymore. One – as much as you may feel like you want to hurry through today’s proceedings, try not to do that. Savour this moment. You’ve earned it. Two – as hard as you worked to get here, to become the person you are today – you didn’t do it all by yourself. Many adults: Family, friends, teachers, coaches, neighbours, and others – have supported & encouraged you along the way. Take even just a few moments to find one or two and thank them for their efforts. It matters.

I want to take this opportunity to share my hopes for you as you move on to the next phase of your lives.

First…..  At the end of the day, who you are is more important than what you do. Of course, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t work hard. Just remember that material success isn’t a substitute for character. The true measure of a quality education is that combination of developing knowledge, skills, self-awareness and character.  

Second.. There is a time to take action. Dr Martin Luther King Jr stated that the true measure of a man isn’t how he behaves in moments of comfort & convenience. It’s how he stands during times of controversy & challenge. And don’t let anyone tell you that you’re too young to make a difference. You’re not.I know by the way many of you have been involved in social justice efforts through the school – things like We Day, for example – that there are amazing leaders among you. Each of you has gifts to share with the world & those gifts are part of the unique contribution you make to society. Communities are formed by the way individuals come together & share those gifts to create a whole that’s bigger than the sum of its parts.

Last… And this lesson is the one I’ve had the hardest time learning. It really is possible to be responsible & take life seriously without taking yourself too seriously. It’s just as important to play, to goof off & have fun, as it is to work hard. Remember that George B Shaw was right… we don’t stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing. So make time for fun in your life.

Class of 2018, you are an amazing group of people. Thank you for listening & for the privilege of sharing this ceremony with you.

 

 

Leave a comment